Tuesday, December 5, 2023
HomeTrending newsIndia vs Australia World Cup Final 2023 PM Narendra Modi's reaction Ahmedabad...

India vs Australia World Cup Final 2023 PM Narendra Modi’s reaction Ahmedabad Stadium Australian Deputy PM Richard Marles

After India lost to Australia in the World Cup final, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Sunday said Team India played with great spirit and brought great pride to the country. India’s aspirations for a third World Cup title were dashed when they suffered a six-wicket defeat against a formidable Australia. The Australian team captured a historic sixth World Cup title, further consolidating their dominance in the tournament which began in 1975.

He posted on Twitter, “Dear Team India, your talent and determination during the World Cup was remarkable. You played with great spirit and brought great pride to the country. We stand with you today and always.”

He congratulated the Australian team for their spectacular win, saying, “Congratulations to Australia on a fantastic World Cup win! Their performance throughout the tournament has been commendable, culminating in a spectacular victory. Travis Head for his remarkable play today “Congratulations to.”

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Australian Deputy Prime Minister Richard Marles arrived in Ahmedabad on Sunday evening to watch the ICC Cricket World Cup final match between India and Australia at the Narendra Modi Stadium. The leaders were warmly welcomed by Gujarat Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel, Governor Acharya Devvrat and Gujarat BJP chief CR Patil at the airport.

Read this also ‘True sporting spirit’: Shah, Anurag, Rahul Gandhi express support for Team India after World Cup defeat

Opting to bat first, despite notable contributions from Rohit Sharma (47 runs off 31 balls), Virat Kohli (54 runs off 63 balls) and KL Rahul (66 runs off 107 balls), India fell short of the score of 240 runs. Was successful in making low score. Travis Head repeated his match-winning performance in the WTC final against India in June with a brilliant inning of 137 runs off 120 balls. Australia successfully chased the target in 43 overs.

Although Australia suffered a minor setback with three wickets falling for 47 runs, a formidable 192-run partnership between Head and Marnus Labuschagne (58 not out) firmly closed the door on India’s hopes. Australia’s exceptional bowling and fielding contributed significantly to their emphatic victory. Evening dew further encouraged batting on a slow and dry surface.

India, the only unbeaten team to enter the final with an impressive 10 consecutive wins, faltered at the final hurdle. The last World Cup title for India was in 2011, and their most recent ICC trophy was the Champions Trophy triumph in 2013. Over the past decade, India suffered defeats in various ICC competitions, including the 2014 World T20 Final, 2016 World T20 Semi-Final, 2017 Champions Trophy Final, 2019 ODI World Cup Semi-final, 2022 T20 World Cup Semi-final, and the 2021 and 2023 World Cups. Consecutive runners-up in the Test Championship cycle.

Subscribe and follow ABP Live on Telegram: https://t.me/officialabplive



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments